Software Technology Track

HICSS-36

January 6-9, 2003
 Hilton Waikoloa Village
 Big Island, Hawaii

 

  

   

Call For Papers


Authors are invited to submit papers describing new advances in software technology. We welcome papers that may be theoretical, conceptual, tutorial, or descriptive in nature. The Software Technology Track consists of sixteen minitracks that cover important areas in software and organized in four Clusters. Topics and chairs of the minitracks are listed below.


Important Deadlines in 2002
  • A 300-word abstract by March 31
  • Feedback to author on abstract by April 19
  • Eight copies of the manuscript by June 1
  • Notification of accepted papers by August 31
  • Camera-ready copies of accepted manuscripts are due by October 1
  • Tutorial Proposals by March 15
  • Notification of accepted tutorials by May 15

  • Instructions for the Authors

    Submit a 300-word abstract to one of the minitrack chairs according to their areas of responsibility (listed below) by March 31, 2002. Feedback on the appropriateness of the abstract will be sent to you by April 19, 2002. Submit the full manuscript by June 1, 2002. Manuscripts should have an abstract and be 22-25 typewritten, double-spaced pages in length. Papers must not have been previously presented or published, nor currently submitted for journal publication. Each manuscript will be subjected to a rigorous refereeing process. Individuals interested in refereeing papers should contact the minitrack chairs directly.


    Tutorials

    Tutorials will be offered on Monday, January 6, 2003. Interested speakers should submit full-day or half-day proposals to the track chairman by March 15, 2002. Proposals should include an outline of the topics to be covered and a short biography.


    Track Chairman

    Hesham El-Rewini, rewini@engr.smu.edu

    Computer Science and Engineering Department

    Southern Methodist University

    PO Box 750122

    Dallas TX 75275-0122   

    Voice: (214) 768-3083

    FAX:  (214) 768-3085

     


    International Track Advisory Committee
    • Steve Chapin, Syracuse University

    • Wayne Dyksen, Michigan State University

    • Mohamed  Eltoweissy, James Madison University

    • Krishna kavi, University of North Texas

    • Michael A Langston, University of Tennessee

    • Erich Neuhold, Fraunhofer-IPSI, GERMANY

    • Alexey Lastovetsky, University College Dublin, Ireland

    • Richard Linger, Carnegie Mellon University

    • Aris Ouksel, University of Illinois in Chicago

    • Diane T. Rover, Iowa State University

    • Sartaj Sahni, University of Florida

    • Behrooz Shirazi, University of Texas at Arlington

    • Pradip K Srimani, Clemson University


    List of Minitracks 

    Cluster I             Emerging Fields 

    Minitrack

    Title

    Chairs

    1

    Bioinformatics

    Hesham H. Ali, hesham@unomaha.edu

    2

    Formal Methods for Engineering Special-Purpose Parallel Systems

    Ali Abdallah , A.Abdallah@sbu.ac.uk  

    Wayne Luk, wl@doc.ic.ac.uk

     

    3

    Peer-2-Peer E-commerce Systems and Applications

    Karl Aberer, karl.aberer@epfl.ch

    Jean-Henry Morin, Jean-Henry.Morin@cui.unige.ch

    Aris Ouksel, aris@uic.edu

    4

    Quality of Service in the Internet

    Ahmed Kamal, kamal@iastate.edu

    Osama Aboul-Magd, osama@nortelnetworks.com

    5

    Web-based Information Sharing: Technologies, Strategies, and Approaches

    Donna Dufner, ddufner@unomaha.edu

     Deepack Khazanchi, khazanchi@unomaha.edu

    Peter Wolcott, pwolcott@unomaha.edu

    Cluster II            Mobile Computing and Wireless Networks 

    Minitrack

    Title

    Chairs

    6

    Mobile Distributed Information Systems

    Andreas Meissner, Andreas.Meissner@ipsi.fraunhofer.de

    Wolfgang Schoenfeld, Wolfgang.Schoenfeld@ipsi.fraunhofer.de

    Lars Wolf , Lars.Wolf@uni-karlsruhe.de

    7

    Routing in Mobile and Wireless Networks

    Ivan Stojmenovic,

    Jie Wu, jie@cse.fau.edu

    8

    Quality of Service in Mobile and Wireless Networks

    Steve Olariu, olariu@cs.odu.edu

    Petria Todorova, todorova@fokus.fhd.de

    9

    Wireless LANs and PANs

    Sajal Das, das@roop.uta.edu

    Gergely Zaruba, zaruba@cse.uta.edu

    Kalyan Basu, basu@cse.uta.edu

    Cluster III            Software Development 

    Minitrack

    Title

    Chairs

    10

    Distributed Object and Component based Software Systems

    Barrett R. Bryant, bryant@cis.uab.edu

    Rajeev R. Raje, rraje@cs.iupui.edu

    11

    Domain-Specific Languages

     

    M Mernik, marjan.mernik@uni-mb.si

    J Heering, jan.heering@cwi.nl

    Anthony Sloane, asloane@comp.mq.edu.au

    12

    Experimental Software Engineering

    Karlheinz Kautz, karl.kautz@cbs.dk

    Pekka Abrahamsson, pekka.abrahamsson@oulu.fi

    13

    Mobile Software Agents and their Use in Industrial Applications

    Ahmed Karmouch, karmouch@site.uottawa.ca

    Thomas Magedanz, magedanz@ikv.de

    Cluster IV             Trustworthy Computing 

    Minitrack

    Title

    Chairs

    14

    Frameworks and Methods for the Study and Analysis of Trust in Information Systems

    Prieto-Diaz, Ruben, prietodiaz@Cisat.jmu.edu

    15

    Secure and Survivable Software Systems

    Axel Krings, krings@cs.uidaho.edu

    Paul Oman,  Paul_Oman@selinc.com

    16

    Testing and Certification of Trustworthy Systems

    Alan R. Hevner, ahevner@coba.usf.edu  

    Richard C. Linger, rlinger@sei.cmu.edu

    Gwendolyn H. Walton, gwalton@mail.ucf.edu